What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to Growing

I am interested in starting to grow some different types of hibiscus plants. I am new to this type of hobby and am looking for advice. I have purchased three differnt types from the local nurserys but am looking for the more exotic. I have access to a very nice green house where I plan on growing the plant until it is of larger size and then replanting at my home. Please feel free to contact me if you have any advice or also grow/propagate the hibiscus. Thanks. Ron PS- I live in tucson and have access to lots of cactus if interested in trading and possibly can trade some carnvirous plants as well

I live in northern New York, and we have a bunch of temperate hibiscus in our yard. Basically, they can take a lot of sun, at least in my climate. We have some that get full sun all day in summer. And they keep coming back every year with huge blooms. I don't know if you're thinking about getting the kind of hibiscus I have, but nonetheless, I'd assume they're all very easy to grow, just give 'em lots of sun. They don't seem to care much about water.

Here's the type we grow:
hibiscus.jpg

-Ben

Just wanted to welcome you to TerraForums. I was is in Tucson this past January and had I computer access, I woulda tried getting in touch with / meeting Andrew.

Drosera36- I read these can be propagated via cuttings... Do you guys cut them back at any time? Just wondering if we could work anything out for me to get some parts so I can try to make my brother a few plants. Since he has aparently yet to ask you... Let me know if we could work something out
smile.gif

Jim-Scott, excuses excuses! LOL
Andrew