What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Amorphophallus Konjac 1st time bloom questions

Hi guys. I have an Amorphophallus Konjac bulb I’ve been growing for maybe the past 3 years and just noticed it is starting to bloom for the first time! But it seems really, really early….I normally have it starting to sprout just a tiny leaf tip around March or April and by the time the weather is warm enough to plant it outside during May in one of my huge tubs it works out no problem. In the fall I dig it up and store it bare bulb in dry wrapping and repeat next year. So right now it is unpotted and shooting out a 3ish foot flower stalk.

My plan is to pot it as soon as possible in a big (but still movable pot) so it can flower, then hope that when the flower dies back I move the pot somewhere better (either to my parent’s house with good windows or if I am really lucky it will be spring and it can go outside) for when the leaf starts growing and needs good light. I have a couple questions to try to figure out the best game plan to deal with this early bloomer.