What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

does anyone know...

My mom had this cool looking moss growing out of a rock path, and I collected some. Does anyone know how to grow this? I assume it needs very little light and a moist environment. Any other suggestions?

Im not a pro moss grower, but an old teacher of mine taught me a few tricks to growing the stuff. His suggestions were: give it an anchor that it would naturally grow on, rock wood etc. Give it indirect light, or it will burn. Make sure it has plenty of moisture, especially during lighted periods. And his number one trick: Make a mixture of milk, water, and manure and paint the anchor object with it. Then lay the moss on top of the mix. Apparently moss loves this stuff.He used to make his own gardening pots and would mix the manure and milk into the plaster (or whatever stuff he was making the pot from) and then once it was dry he would re-paint the container on the outside to help moss grow. Hope this helps.

Thank you. Well after doing some extensive research yesterday I found that the moss I have is called "LICHEN". You are correct about the milk, I also read about using buttermilk or yogurt too. But... some people say not to use it. Basically I want to grow it in a pot on its own (with soil), so I guess my question is do I just plunk it into the soil? I cannot imagine I would need any of those dairy products w/ soil. I was also curious about the growing time... rapid/slow?

Hi there guys

A lichen is quite different to a moss ya know?
Mosses are generally fairly simple little plants - not quite as simple as liverworts and stuff but not too complex.

Lichens are a whole different ball park.