What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Got a slab of Cirrhopetalum

I tend to buy orchids based upon whether I like their foliage (since that's what you see most of the time). Today I purchased my first Cirrhopetalum (a relative to the Bulbophyllum- another genus I haven't tried yet). My purchase was based on liking the slab it's growing on covered in mosses and ferns and the look of the rhizome creeping through it.
Cirr2.jpg

There is much new growth as you can see below in the overall view.
Cirr1.jpg

I'm wondering if I seperate the new growth (to put on some new slabs) how many bulbs need to be in place to give the new divisions a good start and will the old slab continue to produce bulbs and inflorescences? Like I said, I'm new to orchids related to Bulbophyllum so any tips would be appreciated.

The plant I purchased is specifically:
C. Louis Sander x C. Elizabeth Ann 'Buckleberry' (Au/1045)

Thanks for any info!
smile.gif

hey sword i would break it apart by hand what ever comes with a breakage is what i would divid it into. i wouldn't break it all into one single piece. from looking at the plant i would go 3 bulbs per section with keeping as much soil medium with a section. kool plant too.
i e-mailed the place last night with the drac vamp. and asked what the growing cond will have to be to grow this orchid. my mom really wants that one. i will let ya know if i get an e-mail back and what they say
what growing tank do you keep that one in too. i would like to get a piece off of it

Most of the things I've read also say to have at least three pseudo-bulbs per division.  It looks like you could cut off the off-mount piece on the lower right with no danger to the parent plant.