What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Oops

Trapper7

Loves VFT's!
I'm new to Orchids.I just got my first one a week ago.It's a Monteray Bay Orchid.Unfortunetly I over watered it and now all the leaves have gone yellow.What can I do to make the leaves nice and green again?Thanks
smile.gif
*Niki*(Trapper7)

hi Niki,
Could we have a photo?

If the leaves are yellow they seldom recover again.........they will drop off and you wont get green leaves untill new ones grow.

OH man!!! That sucks!! You don't want a photo,it's ugly now
smile_h_32.gif
*Niki*
smile_h_32.gif

Niki,
I need to see a photo to see what species it is and so I can telly ou how to look after it properly and stuff, so please ost a photo.
smile.gif

Dino

Here it is

It's a Monteray Bay. *Niki*

If it was over watered and the leaves turned yellow because of the watering, I'd be worried about root rot.

Oh goody
smile_h_32.gif
*Niki*
smile_h_32.gif

looks like an Odontoglossum to me......water only when soil is completely dry, not just on the top but down below the surface aswell, or you will get root rot and in some cases, leaves turning yellow.

No I'm pretty sure it's a Monteray Bay.The lady I got it from specializes in Orchids.But that's for the info on watering
smile.gif
*Niki*

When ever you get new orchids I would recommend ropoting if the mix has moss or is constantly wet for more then a day (unless the orchid is blooming, wait or the orchid should be kept wet). A new mix is required every 6 months to a year unless you use longfibered spahgnum which is usually 1.5 years. I would recommend using clay pots filled atlest half full with packing peanuts. They keep things nice and dry. Then you can water every morning and never have to worry about rot.