Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sarracenia identification assistance please

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

I recently purchased one of pft.com's Sarracenia gardens, which is supposed to include a leucophylla, a wrigleyana, and a Judith Hindle. I can't quite tell which one of the plants is a Judith Hindle, however, as they don't quite look like the ones I see in pictures (I'm sure they look different when they're younger). Here's the pic:

Anyone see a Judith Hindle? Sorry if it's obvious, this is my first time growing a non-purpurea sarracenia. Thanks!

Tropical Fish Enthusiast jimscott's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm no expert, but I can say with confidence that the one with the white and red veining / window look to it, has leucophylla in it.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perhaps you have 2 different kinds of plants in there?
    \"People place their hand on the Bible and swear to uphold the Constitution; they don't put their hand on the Constitution and swear to uphold the Bible,\" Jamie Raskin, to Senator Nancy Jacobs.

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    There are indeed two (or more) species of Sarracenia in that pot. The upright one, as decribed by Jim, has the lookings of 'Judith Hindle' to me. They start with a good amount of white, but as they age, the red from the venation seems to spill out and eventually the plant turns a deep red to burgundy. Strong light will help his process along, mine eventually turn completely red (not just the hood area.)
    \(_o)/ ಠ_ಠ
    My Growlist
    NASC Website Come join in on the fun!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm, I always thought the white one with the heavy red veining was the leucophylla. Here are a couple of closer-up pictures of those pitechers for identification.