What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ceph Splitting

elgecko

I've got a magic window!
cephsplit1.jpg

Before

cephsplit2.jpg

After

cephsplit3.jpg

This is my first time doing something this radical to my ceph.
There is not much of a root system on many CP's and the ceph is no exception. Many divisions did not have any roots, just a rhizome. I have had sarr and VFT rhizomes which did not have any roots, take root. I hope cephs are the same way.

Cool, those're some nice looking plantlets. I hope they all fill out well for ya. Keep us posted and let us know!

yes, please keep us up to date

Beautiful plants!
smile_n_32.gif

and there ladys and gentlemen is why i want this lovely little pitcher type plant

You are so brave!!! Steve, sometimes I wonder why only you can grow N. hamata and cephalotus so excellently...your conditions must be ideal for both of them!

I see lots of perlite. What's your mix for your cephs?

That's amazing how many individual plants came from the clump! So where are you going to grow them all?

Thanks for the comments.

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Cindy @ May 13 2006,1:57)]You are so brave!!! Steve, sometimes I wonder why only you can grow N. hamata and cephalotus so excellently...your conditions must be ideal for both of them!

I see lots of perlite. What's your mix for your cephs?
Cindy,
I know I've read where cephs can be very picky about root disturbance. I figure at least one of the plants will end up living out of all of them if it was a bad thing to do.
I guess I'm very lucky with my plants.
My latest attempt I'm trying nep wise is a N. rajah right beside the N. hamata.
My soil mix for most all my CP's is equal parts perlite, peat moss, and LFS.

[b said: