What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dormancy Care

i decided to go the path of refridgerated bare-root dormancy.

i have the plants in large ziplocks, bareroot with moist paper towels secured to the roots with rubber bands.

so what do i have to do now? do i have to check on them? do i have to change the paper towels at all? has anyone got any experiance in doing it this way?
sign_help.gif

I'd spray lightly with a fungicide just in case.

Just check em once a month if you feel like it for mold/dead tissue. I don't know why you secured the towels with rubberbands. Lack of air circulation may be a problem with that going on. I'm no expert at fridge dormancy so take what I say with a grain of salt.

the bands arent tight, just there to keep things in place

I never use fungicide unless there's a fungus that needs treated. I would check the plants every 5 to 7 days to make sure they are still doing well. I don't use paper towels either. Being sealed in the ziplock was enough to keep the roots from drying out and makes it easier to see if fungus or other problems are occuring that the paper towels would hide.

why bare roots? is it better than to keep it in pot? well i'm not expert at all, but i red that it is better to not disturb roots without serious reason...