What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sarr help

Hi i am wondering if i need to put ice cubes on my soon to have vft, sarrs, darlingtonia ,dews , and pings in the summer [the temperates] the temps last year in LA were 100+! in the summer. any ideas that i can use, i have a red tub un used if you need more info. please help me! My purpurea is outside but is in dormancy, when it is growing again it might heat up like my vfts last year.

i live in LA too, i think its fine outdoor. i'm not a pro at this so you should wait for other's opinion on this too. and it was only 100+ for like 3-4 days >_>

Using ice cubes sounds like bad news bears.

Sarracenia and VFTs tend to be fine with high heat so long as they get their water. My recommendation: Find a more shaded area and always make sure your plants have plenty of water. And DON'T use ice cubes! Going from TOO hot to TOO cold will only multiply the effect of any stress your plants are going through. Do what you can to moderate, going from one extreme to another is a no-no.

In the summer:

Shade the pots and provide shade in the late afternoon. Make sure they have plenty of water.

The only one you might consider using ice cubes with would be the Darlingtonia. And don't use tap water to make the ice.

However in LA it is probably totally unnecessary. Just top water in the morning and the evening. Depending on where you live night time outdoor temperatures usually dip down to the 60s even in the summer. That's usually enough to keep Darlingtonia happy.

In Savage Garden the author says that cobra lilys do surprising well on a window sill... an east one I believe.