What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Getting good color indoors

I'm new to sarrs, and I gave my mother a Judith Hindle for Christmas. She grows it indoors on a window sill, because the neighborhood has deer which like to wander by and eat practically anything. She feeds it insects that she catches occasionally.

She's a bit disappointed that as the red leaves are dying off, the new leaves stay green. It's getting direct sun, but I guess not enough. Any suggestions or helpful threads to point me to?

Well, unfortunately the only real solution is to put them outside. Sarracenia are outdoor plants, no exceptions. Some members put chicken wire or other fencing material around their plants to keep animals out. Bugs can get in, other animals stay out. I strongly advise you find some way to grow it outside.

color is a really complicated subject. Apparently purpureas growing in a bit of alkaline media are dark red compared to that growing in acidic media. So light, media and a number of other unknown factors (including genetics, season) determine the color of a plant.

Yeah, she needs to go outside with some sort of enclosure. I started with a wire drawer from one of those closet make-over wire contraptions but gradually worked up in size as the collection grew. I didn't have deer, but squirrels and chipmunks that liked to dig.

I say just toss up a salt lick on the otherside of the yard to keep them from going for the less delicious sarr's :)

I think there's some kind of plant that deer don't like to go near, maybe you could get one or two.

Sun. Sun. Sun.

That's how sarracenia get red.