What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trim Sarracenia?

Hi! I'm new to CP's, and acquired a red dragon vft and a scarlet belle sars last september. They have both survived their dormancy, and are starting to awake now. The VFT was easy to trim back, as everything above the surface died, and I simply plucked stuff off as it died back. However the sars never really died back any. The pitchers are dry and brown, but still look alive. I want to trim it back to allow room for new growth, and for aesthetic reasons. I will be repotting both the VFT and sars in the next few weeks, and would like to trim the sars soon. Any info or advice on trimming a sars would be greatly appreciated. :)

Most growers I have seen cut off living pitchers before dormancy too. I think you can just hack way all the old leaves at the base. (a wee bit above the soil.)

Thanks for the reply! can someone confirm this before a take the scissors to my sars?

thanks for all the help everyone! the plant is trimmed and ready for spring!

It really varies by species. With your plant, you can happily trim off whatever material you want. If there are leaves that look fine, then I would simply leave them. Leaving some growth may allow the plant to A) do some photosynthesis B) re-mobilize the nitrogen for the spring pitchers.

wow, they are already coming out of dormancy!? *looks at calendar and estimates another 2-3 months for mine*

I cut my sarrs back before dormancy, its their first with me, im sure yours will be fine!