Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Heli and ceph.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Heli and ceph.

hello tf.
    i got some money for my birthday and i went on a little CP shopping spree. I bought a bunch of stuff, including a ceph and a heliampora minor. im new to these two and im looking for some advice.

i plan on growing them in a terrarium.
    my terrarium has a constant 85% humidity and is 70 degrees during the day and it goes down to 62 degrees at night. i have two floroucents on the tank currently. a 15ww t8 5500k and then a 40ww t8 6500k. i have my lights running for 16hours a day.

im wondering what soil media really works with these two.?
    ive read a few different things and some use open tray with just a little water, so does that work?
    and any other tips.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At the moment, I use cypress bark mulch and live LFS for helis and I use cypress bark mulch, peat, perlite, and quartz sand for cephs. There are many different potting mixes that people use that would also work.

I have used the tray method for both ( pots sitting a little bit of water), but I would not recommend it for others as there is a risk of root rot.

My general watering tips would be to water helis often and let cephs dry a little bit before watering again. In addition to reading the advice from others growers, I research how the plants grow in nature and try to duplicate the growing conditions the best I can.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks dave

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use 100% live LFS for helis, and 1:1 peat and perlite for cephs.
    <Heli> How are you guys losing your hamatas?
    <Brokken> Heli: The hamburglar.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    invest in some fans to help circulate the air. cephs HATE stagnant warm air.
    " You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means." -Inigo Montoya