What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

fridge dormancy and flowering

I live in iowa where there is still a bunch of snow and my sarr tucked in the fridge at 33-35 degrees. Checked on them today and I have some flowering in the fridge. Can anyone explain this to me. Also since I have a 1.5 months before the weather is nice enough to get them out what should I do with the flowers. Will they stop growing until they get outside or do I need to cut them. This is my first year for a fridge dormancy and everything is looking good but was shocked when I saw flowers. Any help would be appreciated.

Pictures?

that's interesting. i'm not sure what I would do in that situation. how long are the buds? are they just beginning to show, or are they already a couple of inches tall? being in the fridge, i can't imagine they will grow too fast and perhaps you could just keep them in there until the outside weather is favorable, although that is still quite some time in the upper midwest. if it were me, i would probably monitor them over the next few weeks and see how much the scape continues to grow. if it gets to be the end of the month and they've really extended their length, I would probably just cut them off. no sense using that energy to flower in the fridge. if they end up growing very slowly, or hardly at all, i think it would be safe to keep them on and once spring arrives, you could have some early flowers.

I totally agree with sarracenia!

This is very interesting to me. How does a Sarracenia awake from a deep dormancy state and send up a flower stalk without a change in temperature or photoperiod (not that refrigerator lights offer much of a photoperiod)?