What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Introduction to Sarracenias needed

As some have you may realised, I'm new to the CP world and have only recently started growing. I understand the basics with neps, flytraps and sundews however I'm completely clueless about Sarracenia. I'm planning on getting a sarr soon as they're definately a gorgeous plant! I've had a look at online vendors although I want to be informed before buying one. I'm wondering if some species are easier to grow than others? Are there particular ones which are like the N x Ventrata of the sarracenia world (for lack of a better word, almost 'generic')? What conditions do they like and how long do they usually take to flower? Thanks for any advice or insight! :D

Probably an S. flava maybe your best bet - if you're growing indoors, then perhaps S. purpurea.

S. 'Judith Hindle' is probably the N. xVentrata of the sarracenia world. Followed closely by S. 'Dana's Delight' aka Diana's Delight as it was intended to be called.

Sarracenia care is very similar to flytrap care. In my house they are treated the exact same and grow side by side in the same soil, light, and water conditions.

They usually flower in 3-5 years from seed. Most plants you buy from nurseries are divisions from mature plants so some can flower the following year while others may take a year or two to recover from being divided before they flower again. Really depends on how large of a divsion it is I think.

Thanks a lot! Was i right in hearing that thye don't go dormant, just stop growing for the winter?

All Sarrs go dormant during the winter and require the same conditions as a dormant flytrap.