Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: cephalotus problems

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

cephalotus problems

I am pretty new to the forums and to CP's, 1 year experience. I have had a baby cephalotus that is not doing well. Pitchers that have been there for a few months have wilted and the leaves are drooping. The crown and the new growth looks good though.

I have been growing it in my edit: South window for 3 months (when I got it), in a 2:2:1 peat, perlite, LFS (with LFS laid on top of it). Temp is 70-80 degrees, 50-80% humidity. new growth has been about 4 leaves and was working on a pitcher.

When I inspected my plant today, I found little bugs running in and out of the LFS that was on top of the pot. So I carefully removed the top layer of LFS and replaced it with a little bit of peat. ( I poked the bugs with my finger and they didn't jump. I don't know what that means but I saw it in one of the threads here)

This bug is also in one of my neps that I planted in the same mix. and the nep seems to be doing okay, but I have pretty tough breeds of neps.

I am trying not to beat dead horses with perfectly good sticks. Here is what I have found out:

1) Ceph likes a soil that drains well. I may have to make a mixture that will drain better for the plant. http://www.terraforums.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=121855
    I would like to rule out some of the other possibilities before I transplant this ceph, because I have heard that it can be tough on them.

2) I just noticed the perlite I have is fertilized, it is the miricale grow stuff, I didn't think they would but fertilizer on that stuff. could that be burning the roots?

Attached are a few pictures

I did get a little bit under the gun with homework and didn't water it last week. But the soil was not dry. How should I proceed?

Thanks All
    Last edited by Step_Pro; 07-16-2011 at 07:40 AM.