What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenia purpurea veining patterns.

Wire Man

Sphagnum Guru
So, after working with CPs all summer I started to notice some things about them that hasn't been documented before. I'm an artist, so I cue in on visuals very quickly. After staring at an S. purpurea leaf for an hour or so I noticed that the veins in the hood had a noticeable pattern in their veins. This isn't any ordinary pattern, but a fractal pattern! The veins form a hexagonal shape that reduces in size, but increases in number as it approaches the edge of the hood.

After looking at some purps from New York for a while I noticed that this fractal changes. Instead of being hexagonal it's pentagonal. Since no one has been able to produce quantifiable differences between purps from up North and down South I thought this might be a break through.

Now I'm asking you guys for help. I need photos of S. purpurea hoods from as far south as Georgia all the way up to the northern most reaches of their distribution in Canada. All I need to know is their collection data (state and county). If you don't know which county it's from, that's fine, just the state will do. If you can get a photo with the hood flattened, that's even better. It'll make it easier for me to map the fractals.

Okay guys, let's see those photos.

A few of those photos are usable, but not many. I need photos directly from the front of the pitcher and/or behind it with the hood pulled back.

how close up do you need the pics and what specific locations. pics of them would help. then can photograph the exact. Have a few with location data..... Are we excluding S. rosea?