User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sarracenia purpurea veining patterns.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Sarracenia purpurea veining patterns.

So, after working with CPs all summer I started to notice some things about them that hasn't been documented before. I'm an artist, so I cue in on visuals very quickly. After staring at an S. purpurea leaf for an hour or so I noticed that the veins in the hood had a noticeable pattern in their veins. This isn't any ordinary pattern, but a fractal pattern! The veins form a hexagonal shape that reduces in size, but increases in number as it approaches the edge of the hood.

After looking at some purps from New York for a while I noticed that this fractal changes. Instead of being hexagonal it's pentagonal. Since no one has been able to produce quantifiable differences between purps from up North and down South I thought this might be a break through.

Now I'm asking you guys for help. I need photos of S. purpurea hoods from as far south as Georgia all the way up to the northern most reaches of their distribution in Canada. All I need to know is their collection data (state and county). If you don't know which county it's from, that's fine, just the state will do. If you can get a photo with the hood flattened, that's even better. It'll make it easier for me to map the fractals.

Okay guys, let's see those photos.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is a great page with pics of purps assembled by region
    http://www.johnjearrard.co.uk/plants.../purpurea.html
    view my growlist
    http://grwlist.notlong.com

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A few of those photos are usable, but not many. I need photos directly from the front of the pitcher and/or behind it with the hood pulled back.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)