What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

cephalotus - powder-y pitchers ?

Anyone know what's going on with this growth point ? Had some of it on the upper leaf as well, comes off when you rub it. Thought it could be the babies of that powdery pest but they don't look anything i know under magnifying glass...
Any ideas ?

snow01f.jpg

snow1t.jpg

It's either fungus or mineral buildup from water. You may need to repot the plant into fresh soil and/or increase light.

If it's fungus, higher light and more air circulation will help clear it up. If it's mineral buildup from water, you may need to repot the plant because the soil might be full of minerals.

Where do you get your water?

My water is RO. Same water I've been using for a few years. This pot is outside in open air on a south facing balcony, this is the only one with the powder stuff.

I noticed the Tarnok thread after posting this. Towards the end NaN has posted a photo of his plant infested with mealy bugs; that one looks a lot like mine. Will treat that portion and see if that's it...Weird, I haven't seen that pest in years.

That's the terrible mildew, you have to keep the plant ventilated and avoid stagnation of water at the bottom of the pot.
when the water ends, wait two or three days and add it again.
To remove the mildew, try using use a solution based on sulfur.

Yes, it appears to be powdery mildew or fungus. You should clean off as much as you can with a cloth, small brush or cotton swab dampened with a diluted solution of hydrogen peroxide or rubbing alcohol. Dilute 3% hydrogen peroxide or 70% rubbing alcohol at least 4 to 1. You want the solution to evaporate quickly so don't apply a lot. Trim off any dead leaves and pitchers.