What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"Eden Black" -- F1

Yeah, I saw that; but since I received seed a little late in the game; was concerned for its viability, and pressed for time -- decided upon the TC route . . .
Please don't get me wrong, I wasn't questioning your motive for TC... just found it really interesting on the speed these seeds have matured in traditional cultivation.

Hi BigBella, I am new to terraforums and am a tcer myself. I focus on asymbiotic germination of Cypripedium species (lady slippers), however I have been dipping my hands into the tissue of cps as well. I was wondering how the EB - F1 seeds have fared? I am entering this thread a bit late, but was also curious what media you used, some variation of ms? Have you tried ceph meristem? Any luck avoiding phenolic oxidation?

The Eden Black x Self seeds have done well and several have formed friable root or shoot-forming calli (I'll post photos when I have the chance); and the media have ranged from dilute MS (1:4 or 1:3) with NAA; to 2:3 Knudsen-C; to a proprietary, low ammonium media being developed. While I haven't used meristematic tissue for TC, I have successfully used "vegetative" leaves of Cephalotus; juvenile pitchers; flower stalks; seed and rhizome tissue.

Phenolic "issues" can largely be avoided by handling the explants carefully during sterilization and by frequent re-plating (often within the same container) should discoloration occur; it eventually stops, though many tropical and sub-tropical plants are particularly high in phenolic compounds . . .

Last edited: