What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Heli media question

So my helis may or may not be happy. They all have a live LFS topping, but are now being buried by the LFS. Not sure if they've stalled, or are just slow to grow. But they all look really healthy.
Is it best to not use a live topper for these guys? Or will they eventually pick up the pace and be able to keep their head above water?
Suppose I could always just cut the LFS back down to pot level. ???

I have little experience with these, but based on research, Heliamphora generally need very airy mixes. You say they all have a long-fiber Sphagnum topping, but what's underneath it? Some Heliamphora are also just slow-growing. It would be helpful if you could post what their conditions are for a diagnosis. A picture would be great, too.

Mine is topped with live sphag, it regenerated from the dried stuff and grew in on its own. It doesn't cause any trouble for me, but I do trim it back occasionally for aesthetic purposes. I am of course growing the indestructible heterodoxa x minor, so my experience may not apply to the less vigorous species.

Here is a pre-trim shot, the smaller pitchers end up completely buried:
604077_453423791359882_397585325_n.jpg

Last edited:
I have little experience with these, but based on research, Heliamphora generally need very airy mixes. You say they all have a long-fiber Sphagnum topping, but what's underneath it? Some Heliamphora are also just slow-growing. It would be helpful if you could post what their conditions are for a diagnosis. A picture would be great, too.

I know all about the generalities of growing helis. Including their preferred media mixes..
My question is specifically pertaining to the live LFS topping.