User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Only Moderately Temperate Sarrs: Your Thoughts

A leuco by any other name would still be as gluttonous. CorneliusSchrute's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Only Moderately Temperate Sarrs: Your Thoughts

So this is my first year--and first will be first winter--growing Sarracenia indigenous to the extreme southern portion of the genus's range. The plants I am thinking of in particular are of course S. psittacina, a few of its related hybrids, and S. rosea in addition to S. purpurea ssp. venosa. I have had warmer growing Sarracenia in the past (S. flava, etc.) and successfully overwintered them in small unheated greenhouse alongside S. purpurea ssp. purpurea and VFTs (I live in zone 6b, namely south-eastern Missouri near Arkansas). These truly warmer growing plants have me a bit stymied, however. Where should I overwinter these plants?

And thus my question for you: given the option, would you either

a) overwinter these potted plants alongside the other more temperate growing Sarracenia in an unheated greenhouse?

b) keep these plants in a southern windowsill in doors (my windows are old and not well-insulated, i.e. cool)?

c) not move the plants leaving them exposed to the elements all winter?

I doubt anyone will select option C, but I thought I would include to be equal opportunity.
    Corey Bennett

My cultivated vegetation, carnivorous and otherwise...

Formerly cbennett4041

A leuco by any other name would still be as gluttonous. CorneliusSchrute's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I should also mention while I am at it that I will be overwintering Darlingtonia (adult plants and seedlings) for the first time this year. I figure they will be fine in the greenhouse with the majority of the Sarracenia, though.
    Corey Bennett

Formerly cbennett4041

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)