What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Found some old seeds... worth trying to germinate???

Cleaning out the closet in my plant room recently, I discovered a paper bag containing smaller paper bags full of sarracenia seed that I collected in fall of 2012. These have just been sitting in the closet in general house conditions.
Are they likely to still be viable?

Im not an expert on sarrs, but most cp seeds viability goes down after a few years of storage.
However, you have the seeds, why not try them to see if any come up?

Give it a shot, lol.

Probably not. Sarracenia seeds can last months to years when stored in the refrigerator, but not as long when store at room temperature. Won't hurt to try, though.

When/if you do sow them, dont throw them out if they dont come up on time.

I once had seeds take 2years to germinate when they should have popped up in a week

Since most of the parent plants perished last winter in that horrible crazy weather we had, I think I will give these a shot. The plants weren't anything special, but still. There might be a few interesting hybrids I suppose.
Thanks for the encouragement. I realize it's a longshot though. If I get any germination I'll post a followup this fall/winter.

Last edited:
When/if you do sow them, dont throw them out if they dont come up on time.

I once had seeds take 2years to germinate when they should have popped up in a week

2 years for sarr seeds? I don't believe it. Maybe nep seeds, but not sarrs. I've sown a LOT of sarr seeds in the past few years and I've never had them take more than 6-8 weeks at most to sprout.