User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Darlingtonia for Complete Beginner?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Darlingtonia for Complete Beginner?

Does Anyone Know How To Grow A Darlingtonia as I'm Fairly New To CarnivorousPlants!
    I Recived The Darlingtonia The other Day It wasn't in It's Soil It's got Not Many Roots Eather What Do I Do Iv Also got Sarracenia & Droseras Please Help
    Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Hello, I must be going... Not a Number's Avatar
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use the search function and search on "Darlingtonia" or "Cobra".

Check out resources such as:
    http://www.carnivorousplants.org/howto/
    http://www.sarracenia.com/faq.html

Specific to Darlingtonia:
    http://www.sarracenia.com/faq/faq5160.html
    http://www.carnivorousplants.org/how...rlingtonia.php

An idea of where you live and possible growing areas and conditions would help.

One should do a little research first before acquiring new plants or animals but then there are always the unplanned for gifts. So do some reading and if you have specific questions post them here.

Welcome to TerraForums.
    Last edited by Not a Number; 08-20-2015 at 04:23 AM.
    Grand Hotel... always the same. People come, people go. Nothing ever happens.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In short, the plant's roots and rhizome need to be cool at all times and have good gas exchange, which means a loose compost, such as live sphagnum and pumice. My long term successes always involved Darlingtonia being grown in unglazed terra cotta pots -- especially those intended for use with orchids, with the enlarged drainage "slots" -- in shallow trays of cool RO or distilled water. Cool nights are also almost a necessity . . .
    “Sì perché l'autorità dell'opinione di mille nelle scienze non val per una scintilla di ragione di un solo . . ."