Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pacific northwest plants

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello All
    I am new to growing CP's. I've got a few from **********.com and am looking forward to new things.
    Does anyone know of any pitcher plants that are native to the Pacific Northwest? I'm interested in finding one that could be left outdoors year round.
    I'm looking around nurseries and in books, but I thought I'd ask here as well.
    Thanks,
    Holden
    ...No snowflake ever lands in the wrong place...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CPs native to the Pacific Northwest would be D. rotundifolia, D. anglica, P. macroceras, P. vulgaris, U. gibba, U. intermedia, U. macrorhiza, U. minor, U. ochroleuca. The only pitcher plant native to the Pacific Northwest is Darlingtonia, which is found in northern California and southwestern Oregon.

However, if your question is what pitcher plants can be cultivated outdoors in the Pacific Northwest, Sarracenia purpurea grows in the severe winter climate of eastern Canada. Most of the Sarracenia species can be grown outdoors in the relatively mild climate of the coastal Pacific Northwest.

-Bob Ziemer-
    http://www.humboldt.edu/~rrz7001/

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im curious, were in the Pacific Northwest do you live, and Bob, do you know where i can go see P.Vulgaris in the wild in Washingon, or any cp? I want to take pics!
    Kevin
    Kevin Peterson
    Grosse Pointe, MI

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question

finnishkid, I live in western Oregon and I grow all eight species of Sarracenias and venus flytraps outdoors, they do great. Jack
    'Celebrate the birth of our nation by blowing a little piece of it up'.The Simpsons.
    My grow list ~http://www.terraforums.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=107403

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)