Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Curving pitcher

Moderator Schmoderator Fluorescent fluorite, England PlantAKiss's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just went out and took a look at the plants in my new microbog. I noticed that one new pitcher is curved over (sort of like an upside-down "J" ). It is an s. leucophylla. I bought it somewhat late last summer. It only had 2 pitchers on it. This is its first new pitcher of the spring and is about 10" tall but very very thin. It isn't limp...just curved over. My other sarra (unidentified) is pitchering quite nicely with about 6 new pitchers and one just opened fully. They are in full sun most of the day. We have had a LOT of rain over the past few days (thank god, we need it) so the bog is very wet.

Is this a sign of a health problem? Or do they just occasionally throw an odd shaped pitcher? I don't have that many sarras (yet) so I'm not that experienced with them. My 'unidentified' and s. purpureas did fine last year and are doing well so far this spring.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Suzanne

(Edited by PlantAKiss at 11:52 pm on May 9, 2002)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Suzanne,
    leucos do this quite regularly that it seems a normal embryo pitcher grows then suddenly curves over backwards to form a 'winter leaf' or phyllodia.

It should throw a new pitcher up with the next leaf, however if it does not, wait until late Summer or early Autumn then it will send a pitcher up for sure and usually a very impressive one.

I have a large plant of a giant purple & white leuco from North Florida which did exactly what yours is doing now with no summer pitchers at all, but in the Autumn, some of the largest pitchers imaginable! (L19 on gallery page on my website)

Moderator Schmoderator Fluorescent fluorite, England PlantAKiss's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Mike