Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just order some S. leucophylla hybrids

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I recently orders an S. leucophylla and two S. Leucophylla hybrids. I can't remember which ones. Anyway, I live in North central Oklahoma and need a little advice on how to grow them. My original idea was to put all three in a large ceramic flower pot and place them on the back porch (facing NE). I'm new to the pitcher plant thing and am also concerned about excess water loss in the hot OK summer. Would it be better if I planted them in a container and buried it below ground to avoid the pot overheating? Also, exactly what soil mixture should I use and can I obtain what I need at say, Lowes? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Buckmaster

Marshfield, MA (US) USDA zone 6 cold-temperate coastal
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sarrs appreciate full sun, so place them in as bright a spot as possible (doesn't that sentence sound odd read out loud?).

If you use a ceramic pot, glaze it. In the summer, you'll want to constantly keep min. 1" of pure water in the tray at all times.

I'm not sure about the climate in Oklahoma...anyone else here from OK?

You can easily obtain Sphagnum peat moss and horticultural sand at Lowes. Make sure the moss is specifically labeled 'sphagnum'. For sand, buy something with grains not tiny like beach sand, but with larger grains.

Any more questions welcome.
    Chris

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you'll be fine... I have a thrity six inch planter crammed full of sars and flytraps, I keep 2 inches of water in it at all times. And I live in south texas! I would just potem up on the porch and enjoy!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)