What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Any sarracenia growers in northern latitude?

Hi there,

After years of growing here in Quebec, I still experience a big problem with my Sarrs (excepted for S.purpurea of course): I can't make them spend their dormancy indoor (too hot, and they are getting too big with the years).

I tried the outdoor dormancy, in an insulated casing (a wood box closing tight, insulated with styrofoam), and 'test plants' hadn't like it much... 1 of 3 VFT hadn't come out of dormancy, and Sarrs experiences few rotting problems, and freezing too...

I can't have a cool greenhouse (i'm still a student, with all the implications as low budget...)... So I'm curious to know how you, northern cpers, are growing your Sarrs, particulary on how you treat the dormancy period.

Thanks!

Tom

one word...Refrigerator.

I live in Rochester, NY, a climate just as cold as yours..we just spent nearly the entire month of January well below freezing..most days not even reaching 10 degrees F.
(negative 12C)
so keeping the plants outside all winter is simply not an option..far too cold for most of them.
Indoors is also no good..I live in apartment, no basement, no porch, no "cold windowsills"..everywhere inside my apartment is at 70 degrees (21C) all winter, which is far too warm!
what I really need is someplace that is cold enough to keep them truly dormant all winter..someplace just above freezing, 35-40 degrees F would be ideal..(2-4C)
at ha! a refrigerator keeps those exact temps all the time!