What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Admittedly, I'm very new to the CP world, be default. The proverbial friend handed down to me two gawd-awful plastic terrariums.

Mind you, I've always held a profound interest in CP's, yet never felt I held within my power (muwhahahaha) the ability to provide the specific environments, etc. As luck would have it, a friend of mine, stemming from the fear of killing these plants, gave them to me. As a sidenote, I had already stumbled across this forum and was learning about CP's before she delivered these plants to me a few weeks ago....but I digress.

I've been doing much reading. Much.

Yet, here's a query for ya'll:

The two, 3-1/2"/ square-shaped width with approximately two inches of growing medium (which also appears to be primarily peat with no sand or perilite) acrylic terrariums have assorted plantings (what appears to be three species per pot) with no drain holes. Egads! Heavens to Mirgatroy!

Get this: #1 has Darlingtonia californica, a VFT and a butterwort (don't ask, I'm still getting there - lol&#33
wink.gif

#2 also has a Darlingtonia californica, a sundew and some other member that appears to have suffered rot, no doubt. Species unknown.

Here's my query: Do I dare attempt to separate these plants?

Most of the plants, aside for the D. californica are not growing very well. I have many "fishtanks" available to me and have attempted to place these two, small terrariums in the fishtanks to not only provide some airflow for the C. californica (as I have a small fan blowing)..... yet, some assemblence of humitidy for the VFT's and the Sundew.