What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenia in the tropics

I am new to CPs and also new to this discussion forum. I live in a tropical climate (Honolulu, Hawaii) and would like to grow Sarracenia outdoors. I understand that, generally speaking, Sarracenia will not grow well in the tropics because they need a dormancy requiring much cooler temperatures and/or much shorter photoperiods. However, I'm hoping that there's a hybrid or two out there that might defy the odds and be able to grow in the tropics. I wonder if anyone has any suggestions.

welcome to the forums, tropics!

You can grow any sarracenia outdoors, just bring it inside and bareroot it, then stick it in the fridge for 3 months, and take it back out
smile.gif

if you do not want to do that, get a nepenthes. they are tropical pitcher plants, and can stay outside where you live and grow perfectly where oyu live

Thanks for the suggestions, Spectabilis73.  But I guess I'm just basically a lazy person and would prefer not to have to go through the effort of digging up the Sarracenia plant and putting it in the refrigerator for 3 months.  (And what if someone tries to eat it?)  Do you know of any Sarracenia variety that would not need this kind of attention and would be able to grow outdoors in the tropics year 'round?