Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cephalotus growing down

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had two Cephs in tall, clear plastic pots and I noticed a new growth inside one of the pots, near the bottom. It was almost 3" below the rest of the plant. It was pretty cramped in there, so I used this as an excuse to move the mother to a larger pot and start a new plant. I've been growing Cephs for a few years but put them in clear pots for the first time last spring. Has anyone else seen this happen?
    Bruce in CT

Madness is something rare in individuals but in groups, parties, peoples, ages it is the rule. Friedrich Nietzsche

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The cephalotus plants I grow have done that once per plant. It seems the thick rhizome of the original plant decided to pop another plant up, but do to the vertical growth of the plant do to the pot, the plantlet happened to grow down south. I noticed this while repotting a crammped specimen; i just kinda cut off the plantlet (along with 1" of rhizome it was attached to) and potted it in a small pot of same soil. Grew just fine for me.
    Taproot, Anti-Flag, The Casualties, Alkaline Trio, Eleventeen, Deadsy, AFI...what's not to love?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    >_< LUCKY!
    There is no item greater in value than life, for without life value would cease to exist.
    My Grow List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lately, I've been keeping them in narrow (2") pots and I divide them when they fill the pot. Because of this, I put the mother plant in a 4" pot so it'll send the plants north instead of south. Zach - Were yours also in clear plastic when they did it?
    Bruce in CT

Madness is something rare in individuals but in groups, parties, peoples, ages it is the rule. Friedrich Nietzsche

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)