What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cephalotus growing down

I had two Cephs in tall, clear plastic pots and I noticed a new growth inside one of the pots, near the bottom.  It was almost 3" below the rest of the plant.  It was pretty cramped in there, so I used this as an excuse to move the mother to a larger pot and start a new plant.  I've been growing Cephs for a few years but put them in clear pots for the first time last spring.  Has anyone else seen this happen?

The cephalotus plants I grow have done that once per plant. It seems the thick rhizome of the original plant decided to pop another plant up, but do to the vertical growth of the plant do to the pot, the plantlet happened to grow down south. I noticed this while repotting a crammped specimen; i just kinda cut off the plantlet (along with 1" of rhizome it was attached to) and potted it in a small pot of same soil. Grew just fine for me.

Lately, I've been keeping them in narrow (2") pots and I divide them when they fill the pot. Because of this, I put the mother plant in a 4" pot so it'll send the plants north instead of south. Zach - Were yours also in clear plastic when they did it?

They actually were in clear, plastic drinking cups. (I ran out of pots, so i just use cups.) After thinking about it, can the growth be due to light shining into the root space, triggering a growth? Confuzeling huh lol?-Zach

[b said:
Quote[/b] (cephalotus88 @ Feb. 08 2004,18:19)]They actually were in clear, plastic drinking cups. (I ran out of pots, so i just use cups.) After thinking about it, can the growth be due to light shining into the root space, triggering a growth? Confuzeling huh lol?-Zach