Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Stratifying again

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm surprised that it is suggested to stratify for 3-4 weeks. I thought it would be longer(like 2 months or so). So when you remove the seeds from stratification...will they need light and warmth right away for this "head start"?
    1 Nxventrata

D. muscipula & D. muscipula 'Red Dragon'(barely)

Sarracenia leucophylla(seedling)

S. purpurea and Drosera filiformis filiformis/ intermedia seeds waiting to sprout.

Drosera capensis

Tropical Fish Enthusiast jimscott's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have no direct experience, but I always try to think of what they are experiencing in nature. Photoperiod gradually goes in one direction or the other. Temperature waffles in one or the other. We don't always follow nature's cues and often get away with it.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tend to stratify for 5 weeks and then hit them with warmth and light. This gives a clear signal that 'spring' has arrived so maximise germination speed in theory.
    Alexis Vallance, U.K.
    Plant gallery
    Grow list

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I stratify for about 4 weeks (I simply say if I'm putting them in the fridge on December 5 I'll take them out on January 5), and then place them under lights.

As far as the short time, think about this - in the wild, zone 8, range of pitcher plants, the temperature changes (often warming quite a bit) during the winter. Because of the refrigerator's highly-stable temperature, a shorter period of cold is required. What matters is the hours below a certain temperature - farmers growing certain tree-based crops count hours of cold during the winter to see how much dormancy their trees have actually received.
    Newnan (Atlanta), GA