What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stratifying again

I'm surprised that it is suggested to stratify for 3-4 weeks. I thought it would be longer(like 2 months or so). So when you remove the seeds from stratification...will they need light and warmth right away for this "head start"?

I have no direct experience, but I always try to think of what they are experiencing in nature. Photoperiod gradually goes in one direction or the other. Temperature waffles in one or the other. We don't always follow nature's cues and often get away with it.

I tend to stratify for 5 weeks and then hit them with warmth and light. This gives a clear signal that 'spring' has arrived so maximise germination speed in theory.

I stratify for about 4 weeks (I simply say if I'm putting them in the fridge on December 5 I'll take them out on January 5), and then place them under lights.

As far as the short time, think about this - in the wild, zone 8, range of pitcher plants, the temperature changes (often warming quite a bit) during the winter. Because of the refrigerator's highly-stable temperature, a shorter period of cold is required. What matters is the hours below a certain temperature - farmers growing certain tree-based crops count hours of cold during the winter to see how much dormancy their trees have actually received.

Stratification rates of sarracenia species (approx % germinated after 35 days)

S. purp ssp. purp
2 weeks 50%
4 weeks 78%
6 weeks 82%

S. rubra
2 weeks 30%
4 weeks 58%
6 weeks 28%

S. leucophylla
2 weeks 40%
4 weeks 60%
6 weeks 35%

S. purp ssp. venosa var. burkii
2 weeks 55%
4 weeks 58%
6 weeks 55%

S. minor
2 weeks 40%
4 weeks 60%
6 weeks 70%

S. alata
2 weeks 68%
4 weeks 80%
6 weeks 78%

S. flava
2 weeks 40%