What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie here!

Hello all,

I'm new to this web-site and new to Carnivorous Plants.

I am planning on installing a pond and at least one bog this spring.  

There is a sump outlet in the middle of my back-yard under a large silver maple tree (about 15 feet from the trunk).  This area does not get that much sun, maybe 3-6 hours a day, early in the day.  It's very well-watered, most of the time. Would this be an appropriate spot for pitcher plants? sun-dews?  VFT's? Skunk Cabbage? I have slightly acidic soil in that area.  I am already growing cardinal flowers(lobelia cardinalis), turtle-head(chelone), swamp milkweed(asclepias incarnata), blue flag iris and joe-pye weed(eupatorium something-or-other) in this area, and they all are doing fine (they are very slightly beyond the drip-line of this tree's branches and getting 3-6 hours of sun).  

On the other hand, my front yard is full sun in quite a few places.  Would it be better to make a bog there?  Not that I wouldn't put one there, anyway!  

My little friend "Crunch" gave me 2 common VFT's that he bought from his allowance money! He made the dirt himself, too.  He wants me to have some good plants for my bog.  I am just totally thrilled with his gift, and the idea of having some native carnivorous plants.