What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Moss Confusion

adamtekium

WRC Fan
Hi guys,
I'm really new at this and I was hoping you could answer a question I imagine is extrmely basic. I will be recieving my first dew soon and wanted to know if I should pot it with long fibered sphagnum moss or milled sphagnum peat moss. I will be using the 1 part moss/1 part perlite mix.

P.S. What do LFS and APS stand for? ???

Thanks in advance.

LFS: long fibered sphagnum
APS: aquatic potting soil

I use about a 1:1 peat and sand or pearlite mix for all my dews.

LFS = long fibered sphagnum
APS = aquatic potting soil

Which species are you getting by the way?

i would go 1:1 peat and silica sand. a majority of sundews can work with this soil recipe. from my experience, perlite might be too problematic for pygmy dews.

Close guys,

APS = Aquatic PLANT Soil

Made by Schultz here's the bag: SCHULTZ APS

Shultz also markets something called Clay Soil Conditioner which is the same thing as APS (100% Arcyllite clay particles) but at 1/2 the price of APS. I've only found CSC at a couple Walmart garden centers, not all of them.

Depending on the species Drosera can be grown in anything from pure Sphagnum (peat moss, or long fiber moss living or dead, milled or not) to pure silica sand. The standard mix of 1 part sand or perlite to 1 part peat moss will work with 80-90% of the species. And perlite poses no problem with most pygmy Drosera.

What species are we talking about here?