What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First Time with Sarrs in situ... AWESOME.

CorneliusSchrute

A leuco by any other name would still be as glutto
I have spent the last few days around Charleston, SC, and thought before my arrival that carnivorous plants would be hard to find. After some Internet digging and calls to the exceedingly helpful folks at the Francis Marion National Forest ranger's station, I located three distinct populations of S. minor and flava north of Charleston a few miles off Highway 17 North.

I was extremely happy with the outings I made. Ear to ear smiles the whole time and LOADS of pictures. This is my first time seeing carnivorous plants in the wild, and as I told my wife earlier, it will be hard for me to plan a vacation in the future that takes us no where near a CP viewing site. I can justify this, because I did learn several things about the natural growing habits of these organisms and look forward applying some of that to the culture of my own specimens. Plus it was just a helluva lot of fun.

And of course, the disclaimer: I took none of these plants home! The thought of someone poaching these plants made me sick when I was viewing them. Let's hope they'll be there when I return some time in the future to survey their growth and expansion...

So I know you want pictures, and I have a ton. Enjoy!

This was the first big clump of flava I ran across. There were big patches like this for at least one hundred square meters. Most was inaccessible, though, as it was in knee deep water. I waded in a bit for a few shots like the second one, but then I remembered snakes and gators lived there and got to dry land quickly.

DSCF3643_zpsf959fb16.jpg

DSCF3646_zps8daaac70.jpg