What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to canivorous plants, looking for help...

I am interested in growing Venus Flytraps in my home, but I have never done so before and am quite nervious about making key decisions.  First of all, there are so many different species and genetically altered venus flytraps on the market, it is nearly impossible to choose the right one.  I have been doing a lot of research on the flytraps so I am aware of how difficult it may be to accomidate these fickle creature's needs and keep them healthy, but mainly alive.

Anyways, my main question is which breed of venus flytrap should I purchase (ie: Venus Flytrap Assortment Pack, or should I go with the Terrarium Kit A1 provided by PFT?)  I will be keeping these plants in my house, probably in my room which is usually much warmer than the rest of the house due to my computer being on all the time.  I am divided between the two examples above.  I was thinking of experimenting with the VFT's and seeing if they will do better within a terrarium or out in the open in a tin of water.  My window only gets sun in the afternoon, and I have new shades on the window that blocks out 90% of the sun's rays.  Will this be enough light for the VTF's or will I have to use artificial light?  I would really appriceate it if you guys could help me out in deciding what to do.  I really appriceate it!

Hey Darkest,