What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to VFT's

Hi everyone im new to VTF's and the forums and i would like to a buy a VFT. Which type would u recomend, the typical, dente, or green dragon?  Also could i leave my plant outside during the day while im and school for sunlight then bring it in and put it near my desk light and/or window? Thank you very much and any other info. u think may help me is welcome.  
laugh.gif

Welcome to the boards Oh Mighty New One...
I would suggest a dente or possably a low giant. I also recomend indirect sunlight (like, in the shade). But that's just me.

They are all nice but if you want some color I'd go for the Green Dragon. If you order from petflytrap.com your plant will come with growing instructions.
You can also read past posts on how to care for your venus flytrap. I wouldn't recommend moving it in and out daily but rather find a nice bright place it can get used to and be happy. Good luck and welcome to the forums!

Hello there Rocker
smile.gif

Welcome to the forums and good plant choice! And don't worry too much about which type you get. It won't matter because pretty soon you'll find yourself with every variety available.
laugh.gif
It happens to us all...start with one plant...end up with 200.... The other name for this group is "CPs Anonymous".
biggrin.gif

I like the Green Dragon. Has nice color and is a robust grower. Exotic Gardens (petflytrap.com) does offer nice healthy plants that have been properly cared for...unlike the half dead things you might see at hardware stores.