What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

snake rage

Ok, so i'm back after a long and relaxing four months of not being here. I'm paying more attention to the main ICPS forums, but i decided to pay a visit here again.

So, here's the story. I have a beautiful albino corn snake (i'm a newbie) that i've kept for about seven years now. To keep him small, we limit one fuzzy mouse per week, although he has been getting quite a bit bigger. He was always very calm and never did anything out of the ordinary. Except now.

Recently, when i went in to pick him up to transfer him to his feeding tank, he bit me. I had washed my hands clean before i did that, so there was no foreign scent. He bit my dad to when he picked him up to. He now strikes whenever we try to pick him up now.:poke:

Any ideas?

Maybe he's a bit more territorial as he ages?

Where do you feed him? do you feed him in his terrarium? if you so he might think that whatever goes in there is food now, so you may want to feed him in a different bucket... Also, one fuzzy a week?!?!? That seeems like nothing for a corn snake! Maybe he's just hungry!? Feeding him less will only keep him much much skinnier I think, not shorter. Try feeding him adult mice once a week. That's what I do with mine. Good luck! That's all I can think of... hehe

I would agree with Devon. Not enought food! You can't feed something small portions of food and not expect it to grow. The snake needs larger meals. If they are full they tend to be less nippy! Also if the only time you handle the snake is when you feed it that could also be the problem.

Of course. That'll teach me to post in a topic I don't fully understand. ;)

Of course. That'll teach me to post in a topic I don't fully understand.

lol