Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Waxy mass

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Greetings everyone. I hope all of you are doing well. This morning, I went and checked on my plants after they got a nice drink from last nights rain. When I checked my Filifromis(sp?), I noticed one of them had a ball-like waxy mass at its base where the "leaves" all join together before going into the roots. The mass is fairly stiff...kinda like wax. It also appears to be slightly translucent and I think I see new leave shoots within it.

Is this normal? Is this some sort of infection/infestation? Your help would be greatly appreciated.

I've attached a couple of photos that may be helpful. (I hope this works...this is my first time attaching a photo.)

Thanks,
    Dwight

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It looks like hibernacula are forming. D. filiformis has a hairy matt around the hibernacula and underneath it should be green and firm. My temperate sundews formed hibernacula about 3 weeks ago.

Brian

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Completely normal. Your plants are dormant for the winter.
    "Grow More, Share More"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for the replies. It is good to know that this "mass" is part of its dormancy process. When I looked at it again, I did notice that its leaves were no longer covered in dew and appeared to not look as healthy.

This is my first year having sundews (and other carnivorous plants) and have them all do so well. I guess my next challenge is to get them to survive an Ohio winter. This leads me to my next questions.