What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Auriculata Gigantea Seeds

I just received some Auriculata and Gigantea seeds from Cooks. This is my first time try to grow sundew seeds. Please help me with some little tricks that you may have.
Thanks
Jeff

http://www.waterlilyweather.com/

If this is your first time growing sundew seeds, I wouldn't recommend those species. You can try I suppose. I know gigantea needs to be scarfication and I think auriculata needs to have a summer strafication or sowed in winter. I'm not really sure, but if you do a forum search, you are bound to find something.

The seeds you selected are a little tricky in that they biennials, (form rosettes the first year and bloom the second), but you should be able to grow them nonetheless. D. gigantea does benefit from scarification, best achieved by lightly sanding the seeds.

Both species are best planted in late summer. That is the way it naturally happens in Australia; they germinate in higher temperatures and then begin to form tubers over winter and flower the next year.

I'm no tuberous sundew expert, but I'm thinking you might be able to grow them outside in San Diego. If that works, it would be ideal; the plants respond well to having natural daylight. If not, you'd want to put them on a heat mat until they germinate and grow them under flourescent lights or in a south-facing windowsill.

A good soil mix would be equal parts peat, coarse sand (preferably quartz sand), and perlite.

As I said I'm no tuberous drosera expert, so don't trust anything I say. You'd be best off reading the link above.

Peter