Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting sundews from seed

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I've finally gotten my order from the ICPS, and now I've got a buttload of drosera species waiting to be planted. Well, actually, only three, with something like five others that need to be stratified -- among others.

Anyway -- normally, for non-CP use, I use disposeable aluminum pans with plastic covers for seed germination -- kind of like the round tins you get chinese food lunch specials in. I'd like to do this for the sundews, too, 'cause they're cheap and conveniently sized, but I was wondering if there'd be any problems with the aluminum, and the possible formation of any salts in an acid environment.

Any input you guys have would be appreciated, thanks.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not an expert on the subject, but I seem to recall hearing that buried aluminum cans eventually (partially) break down and trail a fan of toxic breakdown products downstream.
    Droserae will inherit the earth.

Tropical Fish Enthusiast jimscott's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a better suggestion... You can get a bunch of 2" pots (or yogurt containers and fill them with well-rinsed and slightly damp soil media (peat / sand / LFS). Sprinkle seeds on top and cover with Saran wrap. Place at an east window sill and ignore them for 3 weeks. But a magnifying glass and then check to see what germinates.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've Got my plants sitting in an aluminum tray... could my plants suffer from this? should i get a tupperware tray instead?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Better safe thansorry? Also you might consider individual trays for the pots, less evaporation, more control of where you put them.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)