Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help on drosera venusta Care

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation Help on drosera venusta Care

i am a beginner and i want to know the basic care of a d. venusta and what kind of terrarium i should use.

Hello, I must be going... Not a Number's Avatar
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The basics for temperate/sub-tropical sundew are pretty much the same for most temperate subtropic CPs.

Soil/Potting mix - must be nutrient poor/free, mineral free, slightly acid - sphagnum peat moss is ideal additives like sand, perlite, pumice lightens the mix allow better drainage etc.

Water - must be mineral/chemical free - rain water, distilled water, water purified by Reverse Osmosis (RO water), your tap water may be good, depending on your locality. Check with other CP growers in your area or get an analysis of the water.

Sunlight - most CPs grow in wet, acidic bogs which most shade plants do not. They like/need plenty of direct sunlight. There are exceptions.

Temperature/Humidity - temperate and sub-tropical sundews have a wide tolerance for these. As long as you don't expose them to extremes of temps for long or keep the roots from overheating they should be ok. Humidity is not as much as an issue if you keep them well watered. Temperatures become an issue if the plants need cool/cold dormancy.

Drosera venusta should be able to be grown on a window sill or outdoors in most temperate climate. Morning sun or partial shade throughout the day seems to suit them well. Keep them in a tray of water with an inch or so of water. Tall pots appear to work better for them, but shorter pots are ok. They should feed themselves outdoors but you want you can feed them small insect (ants, flies, etc.), or bits of rewetted freeze-dried bloodworm.
    Grand Hotel... always the same. People come, people go. Nothing ever happens.

Tropical Fish Enthusiast jimscott's Avatar
    Mentioned