Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drosera adelae lighting

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Drosera adelae lighting

I am new to growing CP, and I bought a D. adelae and I don't have any windows that get any sun fot more than an hour or so. But I found a old reptile light (I think UV) That was kind of bright. the good thing about this light is it had two normal light fixtures. I put two 23 watt full spectrum compact florescent bulb in it. The bulbs only put out 1600 lumens each. Is this ok or do I have to have shop lights? ( I will have to do some serious rearranging of furniture to fit a 4 foot shop light in my house)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the CFL bulbs are fine. i used to use them. however expect a little die back as D. adelae dosent like too much light. but with patience you can adjust it very well.
    Alex
    Everything is explainable. The seemingly unexplainable is but a result of our insufficient knowledge.- Hans Brewer

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My concern was it wasn't getting enough light so i put the two lights in. they arnt as bright as the other bulbs. they wouldn't be able to light a whole room.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    as long as they are within 12in from the plant (for starting out) they are fine. over the next few weeks you can move them closer and closer to your sundew

Alex
    Everything is explainable. The seemingly unexplainable is but a result of our insufficient knowledge.- Hans Brewer

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)