User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A true newbie question -- How far can things be crossed?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A true newbie question -- How far can things be crossed?

I have a complete and total newbie question.

I see all kinds of neato crosses between various Sundews, but, I am somewhat new to growing plants, so... I guess my question is, is there a limit as to how far you can cross one?

I am not talking about crossing 2 crosses, I know sundew hybrids are sterile.

What I mean is, would it be possible to cross a tuberous with a cape sundew, for example? Or a D. Filiformis with a Pygmy? Is there a limit as to how far apart two sundews can be before they stop being something you can hybridize?

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    There certainly is. As you've mentioned, one of the earliest levels of incompatibility is sterile hybrids. Other intraspecies barriers exist as well, including those which prevent the formation of viable seed.

Still, it's worth giving these things a go as not all possible viable crosses are known (and if someone does know, I'd love to be enlightened.) If you don't want to do "random" hybridization to test for viability, it may be more useful to attempt crosses between species known to grow in geographically similar areas and there's a better chance that the two are genetically compatible.

Morphology can be misleading and it's quite possible that two morphologically distinct plants are genetically/ancestrally similar (and thus crossable.) Best of luck!

Note: I'm sure there'll be someone coming shortly with a more complete answer about viable Drosera hybrids.
    \(_o)/ ಠ_ಠ
    My Growlist
    NASC Website Come join in on the fun!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)