What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I'd like to see some shots of how you guys grow your plants. I'm just getting into Dews and am interested to see all your various actual setups (diff for pygmies?), pots in tubs, lights so far from plants, how many lights, etc. If you can tell (or show) temp and humidity of your areas that would be great too. Do you always have plants sitting in water? What sort of growing media is good for that since peat becomes just mud when you do that.

I of course have all my CP books and their theories but I'd like to see what you guys are actually doing in practice. I never did well with dews when I tried to grow them in the past. My best grower was the D. adelae which popped up in my N. hamata moss and lived / bloomed / made a pest of itself in a net pot of LFS & orchid bark in highland conditions. But the standard advice of "setting pots of peat in an inch of water" only lead to slowly rotting plants for me.

So I'd like to do better if I intend to get more interesting species than the D. spathulata and D. capensis I have and I'd like to keep these nice too of course! :D

once i finish up with finals this week and go home, i will post pics of my whole setup. I will be having a big seed giveaway soon, so I'd love to get you started with some more unique dews.

For now, I'll post 2 pics of one of my tubs, and just fill you in on my "techniques", which I've learned/stolen from books and a ton of people on this forum:
I use the tray method, and let the water level drop considerably before adding any again.
The key is intense light (with the dews nearly touching them, to only a few inches away).