What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Byblis care

Heli

villosaholic
I am recieving byblis seeds and I am getting mixed answers for this question. What are the temp ranges for them after germination? I want to stick them in my heli setup but was thinking that it might be to cold at night in the 50's. Would I be able to grow them on my windowsill? I get humidity in the 40-60s and temps of the high 60s at night to the low high 70s low 80s during the day. Which would be a better place to put them? Thanks, Luca

I'm no Byblis expert but I had mine germinate under pretty much the conditions you described for your windowsill.

How long did they take to germinate?

I wish I could remember...maybe a couple weeks or so? I dunno, I just threw the seeds on standard 50/50 mix, bagged up the pot, put it in my terrarium and got a couple seedlings that took off. Unfortunately mine decided to be a true annual after flowering (and I was too lazy to collect seed) although I've heard they sometimes can stick around longer.

Is it B. liniflora or guehoi or filolia....? B. liniflora is the easiest and a lot of people do a 10% bleach solution before putting the seeds on media. Room temp seems to work.

its liniflora. I want to put it next to my heli setup so it can get light when germinating but the temps are on the low 70s there, should I put it next to a tiny heat mat?

Ooops, good thing I was referring to B. liniflora too.