Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hibernating D. Binata

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hibernating D. Binata

I live in Nebraska where the winters are horrendous and no carnivorous plant would survive. We're talking deep freeze for weeks.

I've been raising VFTs and Sarracenia for a couple years now and the hibernation method I use for them has been successful: starting around late October I place them into a refrigerator that I has a couple suspended grow lights inside (I have a fridge dedicated to them). I watch for fungus, etc. with reduced watering and humidity. I let them sleep for a couple months and then when temperatures are above freezing outside here, I set them back outside again. They've seemed to enjoy it, and I've had some ravenous plants come back in the spring.

The problem is this is the first year I've started raising a lot of sundews, and they're doing amazing. The binata that I have are animals and have quickly become my favorite Sundew species. I know they need hibernation, but I'm worried the methods that work for the North American guys might not work so well here. I have really got a lot of joy from these (not-so) little guys and really want to treat them well this winter.

May I have some advice on how to best hibernate them? Do they just need a cool window sill with regular watering? Would the refrigerator method be overkill for them (or kill them?).

Thanks!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    actually the binata complex does not require a dormancy, but will go into dormancy if the conditions are cold enough. in fact, one species: multifida extrema does not go dormant at all and will die down to the roots if exposed to cold conditions. growing them indoors with adequate light will allow them to persist without any problems
    " You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means." -Inigo Montoya
    +growlist
    +petiolaris drosera going dormant?