What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Having issues looking for soil

I would like to repot my capensis soon, I am leaving for awhile Saturday and leaving the feeding and watering up to the family so I would like fresh and clean soil to reduce complications. I am having a very difficult time looking for small bags of sphagnum peat. I found beach sand at Lowes that I think is suitable, but Idk where to get the peat or whatever else is necessary. The only places close are Straders garden centers and Oakland nurseries, also Lowes and Home Depot but I cannot find what I need. Any help would be great, I'm new at this and it seems this town is happy to sell CP's but not what you need to care for them. Thank you

I only know places to buy it online in small bags, otherwise I just buy in bulk. Might as well buy in bulk, that way one has plenty extra for the future

I only ever see peat in HUGE bags. Maybe someone in your area could spare you a small amount from their stockpile?

I would second buying it online. FlyTrapShop carries several different media components as well as pre-mixed media.

Also, I would be cautious about that beach sand. I've heard that beach sand is usually too fine and contains a large amount of salt.

I would second buying it online. FlyTrapShop carries several different media components as well as pre-mixed media.

Also, I would be cautious about that beach sand. I've heard that beach sand is usually too fine and contains a large amount of salt.

You are correct about the sand, but it still works in a pinch (or if you can't find local supplies of blasting sand).