User Tag List

Informational! Informational!:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Cleistogamy with D. madagascarensis?

carnivorous plants of the world -- unite! DragonsEye's Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cleistogamy with D. madagascarensis?

I have two D. mads. Both have flower spikes with plenty of buds, though one is much further along. However, I have yet to see a single flower. Instead, they seem to stop at the bud stage. I can see the pink/magenta of flower petals at the tip of the new buds and old with the those of the older having the withered look. They never got beyond this stage. Despite this, at least one of the oldest buds shows distinct signs of swelling/seedpod formation. This being my first try with D. mad, I have no idea how normal this is.
    "Blessed are the cracked….
    For they are the ones who let in the light."

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm no expert however this situation has happened to me and I nearly posted the same question about a month ago. I had a healthy, robust plant throw out a long thick flower stalk. I would see the bud, and the colorful tips, but then it would appear to be withered the next time I checked. For example, I have a D. aliciae that is currently flowering. One night I check it and it has colorful tips..the next morning I check it and it is blooming beautifully, that evening I check it and it is closed and withered.

I've read that some plants' flowers can last just several hours before closing up again. I'd check back on it at random times throughout the day and see if you're just missing it.

Hello, I must be going... Not a Number's Avatar
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most of the South African Drosera are self-fertilizing.